What’s Inside this Book

What’s inside this book

My grief journey has no one destination. I

will not “get over it.” The understanding

that I don’t have to be done is liberating. I

will mourn this death for the rest of my life.

–Alan Wolfelt, The Wilderness of Grief, 2010: 92.

This book describes my healing journey and the healing model that emerged from it. First, it tells the love story of Wendy and Karl, who partnered at midlife. Then it introduces a gentle, heartwarming and heart-healing daily ritual designed to connect us with our loved one who has died. Our healing model is in the third part of this book. I explain that guidance flowing from our new connection (with our loved one who has died) can guide our passage through four Gateways of Wisdom, offering us opportunities for addressing issues of Acceptance, Gratitude, Forgiveness, and Engagement, as we enter each new territory. Read more